State of knowledge

May 2021

The integration of ProCall Meetings and ProCall Enterprise results in different roles and rights for users when they use the ProCall Meetings platform as a licensed ProCall Meetings, logged-in ProCall user, or as a guest (unregistered): From organizing/starting meetings to transferring presence information to participating in a meeting. Here are the roles and rights – depending on the activation of licenses and permissions – shown. 

The ProCall Meetings start-up guide describes how to grant a user the right to use ProCall Meetings.

This is the basis for the roles and rights system.

Roles

In ProCall Meetings there are the following roles and permissions:

ProCall user with a license for ProCall Meetings

ProCall user without a license for ProCall Meetings

Guest

  • unregistered subscriber or ProCall user who has not logged in as such

  • can participate in meetings (join the meeting room as a guest) and has no dedicated rights to organize meetings

  • waits in the lobby until the meeting has started

This means that a ProCall user without a license for ProCall Meetings is considered a guest and has no further rights (except for presence creation in ProCall).

Create/manage/enter meeting rooms

Creating/managing meeting rooms in ProCall Meetings and thus organizing online meetings and video conferences is reserved for users with an activated ProCall Meetings license:

Personal meeting room

  • Is automatically created when a licensed ProCall Meetings user logs into ProCall Meetings for the first time.
  • Visible in the center of the home area after logging in and described as "personal room" (marked green in the screenshot).
  • Purpose:
    • You want to invite someone to a meeting, which you start and end by being present.
    • No one else should have control over it.
    • The URL to join the meeting is very personal because it contains your name.

Example screenshot: Personal meeting room in the dashboard of ProCall Meetings user Christine Lang.

General meeting room

  • Is created manually by a licensed ProCall Meetings user (marked green in the screenshot).
  • Purpose:
    • A meeting that any licensed user of your company can start.
    • Well suited, for example, for recurring meetings, such as a daily.
    • The room name or URL can reflect the purpose of the meeting.

Example screenshot: My rooms – your own meeting rooms (created manually)

Meet Now

  • Is created manually by a licensed ProCall Meetings user for spontaneous meetings.
  • This type of meeting room is available only temporarily and expires after the meeting (30 seconds after the last participant has left the room).
  • Otherwise, the rules of a general meeting room apply.
  • Purpose:
    • For spontaneous, non-recurring meetings.

A licensed and logged-in user can be generated such a room by calling the URL https://meetings.procall.de/meetnow. After joining the meeting, the creator can then share the URL to the meeting room.

Lobby waiting room for joining the meeting

If a meeting has not started yet, then meeting participants (guests or unlicensed ProCall Meetings users) are waiting in the lobby. Guests do not see the number of people waiting in the lobby.

Once the meeting has been started, those waiting in the lobby are automatically added to the meeting room.

Example screenshot: Lobby – Licensed user is waiting in the lobby and can start the meeting

Rights

The rights and usage options for users with defined licenses and guests (without registration) result from the roles and room types listed above:

General meeting rooms

Licensed users can start any meeting created by licensed users on the same UCServer. An ongoing meeting is automatically terminated by all licensed users of the UCServer leaving the meeting room after a period of 15 minutes.

Personal meeting room

The personal meeting room can only be started by the user's own participation. If the "owner" of the personal meeting room leaves this meeting room, the meeting room is automatically closed after 60 seconds.

Examples

Christine Lang as a licensed ProCall Meetings user

Christine Lang personal meeting room

Christine Lang shares the link to her personal meeting room with various people in her company (other ProCall users active on the same UCServer) and with guests.
Only Christine Lang is able to start a meeting in her personal meeting room. The meeting starts only when Christine Lang joins the meeting.
Participants who have already clicked the link before Christine Lang has started the meeting will wait in the lobby to join the meeting. No one else has the opportunity to join a meeting there until Christine Lang has actively started the meeting.
As soon as Christine Lang leaves the (personal) meeting room, the meeting ends after 60 seconds for all other participants.

General meeting room, created by Christine Lang

Christine Lang has created a new general meeting room. She shares the link to it with various people from her company (other ProCall users active on the same UCServer) and with guests.
Any licensed ProCall Meetings user who is active on the same UCServer as Christine Lang can start a meeting in this meeting room, only guests are not allowed to do so.
Until Christine Lang or another user with a ProCall Meetings license has started the meeting, participants wait in the lobby to join the meeting.
If the last licensed user, who is active with ProCall Meetings license on the same UCServer as Christine Lang, leaves the meeting, the meeting will be automatically closed after 15 minutes for the remaining participants (guests).