Status

July 2020. ProCall 7 Enterprise 

Installation and setup of dedicated estos UC MediaServer services to achieve resilience and scalability even for large softphone environments.

Best Practice

The approach described in the best practice procedure requires detailed IT expertise in configuration and administration.

Introduction

In its basic structure, the estos UCServer system in a regular default installation consists of three individual services:

  • UCServer
  • WebServer
  • MediaServer

In projects with many SIP extensions that are to be equipped with the estos ProCall Enterprise softphone, an estos UCServer system can sometimes reach its technical scaling limits, since all signaling and administration, as well as the audio streaming of the UC MediaServer service, must be handled by only one Windows host.

Improvements in the three components UCServer, UC MediaServer and UC WebServer in product version 7 have pushed these limits significantly upwards and achieved improvements in fail-safety.

With ProCall 7 Enterprise, the UC MediaServer can optionally be outsourced to its own runtime environment to enable scaling of the UCServer system. Not only does this distribute the processing load over more than one Windows host, but the delay and jitter-sensitive RTP voice traffic on the network interface no longer have to contend with the comparatively much larger data packets from the management interface.
Furthermore, in version 7 it is now possible to operate the estos UCServer with several UC MediaServers and thus achieve automatic load distribution of incoming and outgoing softphone calls using the round-robin method. If one of the connected UC MediaServers fails, this is automatically detected and a failover to the remaining UC MediaServers is performed for new calls.

Example diagram: UCServer with multiple MediaServers

SIP PBX UCServer und mehrere UC MediaServer

As soon as a previously unavailable estos UC MediaServer resumes regular operation, it is also automatically addressed and used by the estos UCServer again; no further administrative intervention is required for this.

On LAN

Please note that the estos server components should only be distributed and operated within the same LAN. Since no separate measures have been taken in the inter-process communication with regard to routing, for firewalls or NAT techniques, unhindered direct IPv4 communication must be ensured between the separately operated estos server components.

Installation

The installation variant of one or more separately operated estos UC MediaServers is not yet supported by the estos ProCall 7 Enterprise installation routine. This means that when installing an estos ProCall Enterprise server, all three services are always installed and activated together, and a separate selection or deselection of the individually required services is not provided for.
Just like the consequently extraordinary installation measures, special manual configuration measures must also be taken in order to set up and connect UCServers and UC MediaServers that are separated from each other.

With reference to the diagram shown in the introduction, the desired target layout in the following example consists of the operation of an estos UCServer on WinServer 1 and one or more UC MediaServers operated remotely from the UCServer on WinServer 2 to WinServer n.

Incidentally, the estos UC WebServer service is always operated together with the estos UCServer service on the same host.

Software versions

It is mandatory that the hosts are equipped with the identical software version.

First host

On the first regularly installed host (here WinServer 1), on which the UCServer and UC WebServer are operated, the two services estos UCServer and estos UC WebServer as Automatic startup type, and the estos UC MediaServer is switched to the Disabled startup type and stopped.

More hosts

On the other hosts regularly installed with the UCServer installation package (here WinServer 2 to WinServer n), i.e. on the other hosts intended for UC MediaServer, the two services estos UCServer and estos UC WebServer are deactivated in the Microsoft Windows Services and only the estos UC MediaServer is left as Automatic startup type.

After updates

Since the installation routines do not take these separate installation variants into account and the service configuration is always reset to a default installation, please note that after installing an estos ProCall update in the Microsoft Windows Service Manager, the startup type configurations must be changed again.

Example of the distribution of estos server services

Example 1: Operation of two remote UC MediaServers

Two remote UC MediaServers are operated.

WinServer 1 performs only the control services,

WinServer 2 and WinServer 3 handles audio streaming.

Example 2: Another host for streaming 

To a fully installed and operating Host WinServer 1, another host will be added for streaming purposes, with the UC MediaServer on Host WinServer 2 offloading the UC MediaServer on Host WinServer 1.

Licensing

Only the UCServer where the users login and where the lines are opened needs to be licensed. The outsourced media servers do not need a license, because the UCServer installation was only used to install the media server. The UCServer (and Web Server) there are disabled and have no function.

Configuration

Addressing the UC MediaServer

In detail, it is the estos UC WebServer service and not the estos UCServer service that controls the estos UC MediaServer service. In the installation standard, the UC WebServer expects the estos UC MediaServer under the IPv4 address 127.0.0.1, i.e. its own local host, which is why the configuration file eucwebconfig.json (in the default directory C:\Program Files\estos\UCServer\config) on WinServer 1 must be adapted accordingly. In the kurento servers section, the URL must be adapted for this, i.e. 127.0.0.1 is to be exchanged here against the IPv4 address of the WinServer 2:

eucwebconfig.json

"kurentoservers" : [
   {
      "url" : "ws://<IPv4 des WinServer 2>:8888/kurento"
   }
],
CODE

This could also be used to adjust a port that may have been changed on the UC MediaServer side (standard 8888), but this will not be discussed further here.

If WinServer 2 has e.g. the IPv4 address 10.21.3.11, the following setting results for the eucwebconfig.json on WinServer 1:

eucwebconfig.json

"kurentoservers" : [
   {
      "url" : "ws://10.21.3.11:8888/kurento"
   }
],
CODE

The connection of further UC MediaServers to the UC WebServer is done accordingly by further URL specifications. Please note the exact compliance with the json syntax for lines, commas and brackets:

eucwebconfig.json

"kurentoservers" : [
   {
      "url" : "ws://10.21.3.11:8888/kurento"
   },
   {
      "url": "ws://10.21.3.12:8888/kurento"
   }
],
CODE

Additionally, please note to keep other possibly existing filter parameters (here candkillipv6, candkilltcp and candonlyturn) in the URL sections unchanged:

eucwebconfig.json

"kurentoservers" : [
   {
      "url" : "ws://10.21.3.11:8888/kurento",
      "candkillipv6": 0,
      "candkilltcp": 0,
      "candonlyturn": 0
   }
],
CODE

The configuration file eucwebconfig.json is a configuration file relevant for the UC WebServer. Manual changes to this file are only made active by the UC WebServer when this service is restarted.

Activation of encryption

Since communication between UC WebServer and UC MediaServer takes place via the network and no longer localhost when the estos UC MediaServer is in remote operation, it may be necessary to activate encryption for this communication path for security reasons. This is also done manually via the configuration file eucwebconfig.json.

To enable encryption, change the protocol handler in the URL parameter from WS to WSS and change the TCP port from 8888 (default WebSocket port) to 8433 (default Secure WebSocket port). Encryption is performed in the basic installation using the defaultCertificate.pem certificate (stored in the UC MediaServer directory C:\Program Files\estos\UCServer\MediaService\emswindows\etc\kurento).

Example of this reconfiguration 

eucwebconfig.json: Encryption not enabled (default)

"kurentoservers" : [
   {
      "url" : "ws://10.21.3.11:8888/kurento",
      "candkillipv6": 0,
      "candkilltcp": 0,
      "candonlyturn": 0
   }
],
CODE

eucwebconfig.json: Active encryption

"kurentoservers" : [
   {
      "url" : "wss://10.21.3.11:8433/kurento",
      "candkillipv6": 0,
      "candkilltcp": 0,
      "candonlyturn": 0
   }
],
CODE

These manual changes to the configuration file eucwebconfig.json become active only when the UC WebServer service is restarted.

Stand

Juli 2020. ProCall 7 Enterprise 

Installation und Einrichtung dediziert betriebener estos UC MediaServer Dienste, um Ausfallsicherheit und Skalierbarkeit auch für große Softphone Umgebungen zu erreichen. 

Best Practice

Die im Best Practice Vorgehen beschriebene Vorgehensweise setzt detaillierte IT Fachkenntnis in Konfiguration und Administration voraus.

Einleitung

Das estos UCServer System in einer regulären Standardinstallation besteht in seiner grundsätzlichen Struktur aus drei Einzeldiensten:

  • UCServer
  • WebServer
  • MediaServer

In Projekten mit vielen SIP-Nebenstellen, die mit dem estos ProCall Enterprise Softphone ausgestattet werden sollen, kann ein estos UCServer System mitunter an seine technischen Grenzen der Skalierung stoßen, da sowohl die gesamte Signalisierung und Verwaltung als auch das Audio Streaming des UC MediaServer Dienstes von nur einem Windows Host abzuarbeiten ist.

Durch Verbesserungen in den drei Komponenten UCServer, UC MediaServer und UC WebServer in der Produktversion 7 wurden diese Grenzen deutlich nach oben verschoben und Verbesserungen bei der Ausfallsicherheit erzielt.

Der UC MediaServer kann bei ProCall 7 Enterprise optional in eine eigene Laufzeitumgebung ausgelagert werden, um so eine Skalierung des UCServer Systems zu ermöglichen. Nicht nur, dass damit eine Verteilung der Verarbeitungslast auf mehr als einen Windows Host erzielt wird, auch der in Hinsicht auf Delay und Jitter-sensible RTP Voice Traffic steht auf der Netzwerkschnittstelle nicht mehr in Konkurrenz mit den vergleichsweise viel größeren Datenpaketen aus der Verwaltungsschnittstelle.
Darüber hinaus ist es in der Version 7 nun möglich, den estos UCServer mit mehreren UC MediaServern zu betreiben und so eine automatische Lastverteilung der ein- und ausgehenden Softphone-Gespräche nach Round Robin-Methode zu erreichen. Sollte einer der angebundenen UC MediaServer ausfallen, wird dies automatisch festgestellt und für neue Gespräche ein Failover auf die noch verbliebenen UC MediaServer durchgeführt.

Beispiel Schaubild UCServer mit mehreren MediaServern

SIP PBX UCServer und mehrere UC MediaServer

Sobald ein zuvor nicht mehr verfügbarer estos UC MediaServer wieder seinen regulären Betrieb aufnimmt, wird dieser auch wieder automatisch vom estos UCServer adressiert und genutzt, ein weiterer administrativer Eingriff ist hierfür nicht erforderlich.

Im LAN

Bitte beachten Sie, die estos Server-Komponenten nur innerhalb desselben LAN zu verteilen und zu betreiben. Da in der Interprozesskommunikation keine gesonderten Maßnahmen hinsichtlich des Routings, für Firewalls oder NAT-Techniken getroffen wurden, muss zwischen den getrennt betriebenen estos Server-Komponenten eine ungehinderte direkte IPv4-Kommunikation sichergestellt sein.

Installation

Die Installationvariante eines oder mehrerer gesondert betriebener estos UC MediaServer wird von der estos ProCall 7 Enterprise Installationsroutine noch nicht unterstützt. Dies bedeutet, dass bei Installation eines estos ProCall Enterprise Servers immer alle drei Dienste gemeinsam installiert und aktiviert werden, eine gesonderte An- oder Abwahl der im Einzelnen benötigten Dienste nicht vorgesehen ist.
Ebenso wie die demzufolge außerordentlichen Installationsmaßnahmen sind auch besondere manuelle Konfigurationsmaßnahmen zu ergreifen, um voneinander getrennte UCServer und UC MediaServer aufzusetzen und miteinander zu verbinden.

Bezogen auf das in der Einleitung dargestellte Schaubild besteht das gewünschte Ziellayout im folgenden Beispiel aus dem Betrieb eines estos UCServers auf WinServer 1 und einem oder mehrerer vom UCServer abgesetzt betriebener UC MediaServer auf WinServer 2 bis WinServer n.

Im übrigen wird der Dienst estos UC WebServer immer gemeinsam zusammen mit dem Dienst estos UCServer auf demselben Host betrieben.

Software-Versionen

Es ist zwingend erforderlich, die Hosts dabei mit der identischen Softwareversion auszustatten.

Erster Host

Auf dem ersten regulär installierten Host (hier WinServer 1), auf dem der UCServer und UC WebServer betrieben werden, sind die beiden Dienste estos UCServer und estos UC WebServer im Starttyp Automatisch zu belassen und der estos UC MediaServer wird auf Starttyp Deaktiviert umgestellt und gestoppt.

Weitere Hosts

Auf den weiteren regulär mit dem UCServer Installationspaket installierten Hosts (hier WinServer 2 bis WinServer n), also auf den für UC MediaServer vorgesehenen weiteren Hosts, werden die beiden Dienste estos UCServer und estos UC WebServer in den Microsoft Windows Services deaktiviert und nur der estos UC MediaServer im Starttyp Automatisch belassen.

Nach Updates

Da die Installationsroutinen diese gesonderten Installationsvarianten nicht berücksichtigen und die Dienstekonfiguration dabei immer auf eine Standardinstallation zurückgesetzt wird, beachten Sie bitte, nach Installation eines estos ProCall Updates im Microsoft Windows Dienstemanager die Starttyp-Konfigurationen erneut nachzuziehen.

Beispiel für die Verteilung der estos Server-Dienste

Beispiel 1: Betrieb von zwei abgesetzten UC MediaServer

Es werden zwei abgesetzte UC MediaServer betrieben.

WinServer 1 nimmt ausschließlich die Steuerungsdienste wahr,

WinServer 2 und WinServer 3 übernehmen das Audiostreaming.

Beispiel 2: weiterer Host für Streaming 

Zu einem vollständig installierten und betriebenen Host WinServer 1 wird ein weiterer Host für Streaming-Zwecke hinzugefügt, wobei der UC MediaServer auf Host WinServer 2 den UC MediaServer auf Host WinServer 1 entlasten wird.

Lizensierung

Es muss nur der UCServer lizensiert werden, an dem sich die Benutzer anmelden und an dem die Leitungen geöffnet werden. Die ausgelagerten Media Server benötigen keine Lizenz, da die UCServer Installation nur dazu gebraucht wurde, den Media Server mit zu installieren. Der UCServer (und Web Server) dort sind deaktiviert und haben keine Funktion.

Konfiguration

Adressierung der UC MediaServer

Im Detail betrachtet ist es der estos UC WebServer Dienst und nicht der estos UCServer Dienst, der den estos UC MediaServer Dienst steuert. Der UC WebServer erwartet den estos UC MediaServer im Installationsstandard unter der IPv4-Adresse 127.0.0.1, also dem eigenen lokalen Host, weshalb die Konfigurationsdatei eucwebconfig.json (im Standardverzeichnis C:\Program Files\estos\UCServer\config) auf WinServer 1 entsprechend angepasst werden muss. Im Abschnitt kurentoservers muss hierzu die URL angepasst werden, d. h. es ist hier die 127.0.0.1 gegen die IPv4-Adresse des WinServer 2 auszutauschen:

eucwebconfig.json

"kurentoservers" : [
   {
      "url" : "ws://<IPv4 des WinServer 2>:8888/kurento"
   }
],
CODE

Im übrigen könnte hierüber auch ein evtl. auf UC MediaServer Seite geänderter Port (Standard 8888) angepasst werden, worauf jedoch hier nicht weiter eingegangen wird.

Verfügt WinServer 2 über bspw. die IPv4-Adresse 10.21.3.11, so ergibt sich für die eucwebconfig.json auf WinServer 1 die folgende Einstellung:

eucwebconfig.json

"kurentoservers" : [
   {
      "url" : "ws://10.21.3.11:8888/kurento"
   }
],
CODE

Die Anbindung weiterer UC MediaServer an den UC WebServer erfolgt entsprechend durch weitere URL-Angaben. Bitte beachten Sie die exakte Einhaltung der json-Syntax für Zeilen, Kommata und Klammern:

eucwebconfig.json

"kurentoservers" : [
   {
      "url" : "ws://10.21.3.11:8888/kurento"
   },
   {
      "url": "ws://10.21.3.12:8888/kurento"
   }
],
CODE

Beachten Sie bitte zusätzlich, weitere möglicherweise vorhandene Filterparameter (hier candkillipv6, candkilltcp und candonlyturn) in den URL-Abschnitten unverändert zu erhalten:

eucwebconfig.json

"kurentoservers" : [
   {
      "url" : "ws://10.21.3.11:8888/kurento",
      "candkillipv6": 0,
      "candkilltcp": 0,
      "candonlyturn": 0
   }
],
CODE

Die Konfigurationsdatei eucwebconfig.json ist eine für den UC WebServer relevante Konfigurationsdatei. Manuelle Änderungen an dieser Datei werden vom UC WebServer erst bei einem Neustart dieses Dienstes aktiv.

Aktivierung der Verschlüsselung

Da bei abgesetztem Betrieb des estos UC MediaServer die Kommunikation zwischen UC WebServer und UC MediaServer über das Netzwerk und nicht mehr localhost stattfindet, kann es aus Sicherheitsgründen erforderlich sein, die Verschlüsselung für diesen Kommunikationspfad zu aktiveren. Dies geschieht manuell ebenfalls über die Konfigurationsdatei eucwebconfig.json.

Um die Verschlüsselung zu aktivieren, ist im URL-Parameter der Protokollhandler von WS nach WSS umzustellen und der TCP-Port von 8888 (Standard WebSocket Port) auf 8433 (Standard Secure WebSocket Port) umzustellen. Die Verschlüsselung erfolgt in der Grundinstallation anhand des Zertifikats defaultCertificate.pem (abgelegt im UC MediaServer Verzeichnis C:\Program Files\estos\UCServer\MediaService\emswindows\etc\kurento).

Beispiel für diese Umkonfiguration 

eucwebconfig.json: Nicht aktivierte Verschlüsselung (Standard)

"kurentoservers" : [
   {
      "url" : "ws://10.21.3.11:8888/kurento",
      "candkillipv6": 0,
      "candkilltcp": 0,
      "candonlyturn": 0
   }
],
CODE

eucwebconfig.json: Aktiverte Verschlüsselung

"kurentoservers" : [
   {
      "url" : "wss://10.21.3.11:8433/kurento",
      "candkillipv6": 0,
      "candkilltcp": 0,
      "candonlyturn": 0
   }
],
CODE

Auch diese manuellen Änderungen an der Konfigurationsdatei eucwebconfig.json werden erst bei Neustart des Dienstes UC WebServer aktiv.