State of knowledge

May 2021

Observation

In the case of telephone calls, the audio feed-through is significantly delayed after a connection is established.
Despite successful connection establishment, the bidirectional voice can only be heard a few seconds later: The first seconds of the call are "missing", otherwise the connection is available in undisturbed quality.

Where does this behavior occur?

Phone calls on a SIP softphone line in the ProCall Enterprise client for Microsoft Windows or in the ProCall Mobile app for iOS and Android may be affected by this issue.

Which calls are affected?

Incoming calls on the ProCall Enterprise client for Microsoft Windows are more frequently affected by this problem, while outgoing calls are less affected.

In the ProCall Mobile app, this behavior can occur for both incoming and outgoing connections.

Possible reasons

The media connection (encrypted RTP audio stream G.711 aLaw-, G.711 µLaw- or Opus-encoded) between ProCall Enterprise client for Microsoft Windows and estos UC Media Server or between ProCall Mobile app for iOS/Android and estos UC Media Server is negotiated using the Interactive Connectivity Establishment (ICE) procedure according to RFC 8445. In this process, client and server exchange candidates (host, srflx, relay, on IPv4 and IPv6, UDP, and TCP).
Candidates represent the possible connection endpoints for possible audio or video connection, which are exchanged between the communication participants and checked as possible suitable connection paths.

Number of candidates

Depending on the operating environment, there can be a different number of candidates.

For example, if an estos UC Media Server has only one network interface and only the IPv4 protocol is bound to it, but not also the IPv6 protocol, the UC Media Server will only communicate an estimated 5 candidates to the client as possible connection endpoints (IPv4 UDP host, IPv4 UDP srflx, IPv4 TCP host active and passive, IPv4 UDP relay).

If, for example, the ProCall Mobile app is in operation in a typical home office environment, it will probably inform the UC Media Server of more than 20 possible connection endpoints: host address in the WLAN, host address in the mobile data network, srflx address at the router of the home network, srflx address in the mobile data network, relay address in the TURN server. These addresses, each taken into account under IPv4 and IPv6, UDP and TCP, result in a calculated 20 candidates without taking details into account.

During the connection negotiation via ICE, the mutually communicated candidates are suitably paired to check the endpoint connections from both sides. 
Without considering further details, 10 times 20 connection paths can be formed with 10 UC Media Server Candidates and 20 ProCall Mobile App Candidates, which must be checked within the shortest possible time, but a sufficiently fast connection path determination cannot be guaranteed. It could take several seconds until a suitable connection path is found by both the ProCall Mobile App and the UC Media Server and agreed upon as a transmission channel. During these seconds of connection negotiation, the audio transmission is then lost and the user perceives this as a delayed audio connection.

Compared to the previous example, in which IPv4 and IPv6 candidates are evaluated and there could be a rough estimate of 200 connection paths to be tested, the deactivation of IPv6 candidates results in a rough estimate of only 50 connection paths to be tested, which corresponds to a reduction of connection tests by 75%.

Procedure

Reduction of the number of connecting paths to be tested

Reducing the number of connection paths to be tested can therefore be a suitable means of speeding up audio throughput.

If required, the client candidates fed to the estos UC Media Server via the estos UC Web Server can be filtered. In this way, the UC Media Server receives fewer client candidates, forms fewer candidate pairs for the connection check, and thus nominates the successfully tested connection more quickly.

Filter technology for ICE Candidates

Depending on the operating environment, it makes sense to exclude the IPv6 or TCP candidates from the ICE connection check. For example, if IPv4 communication is ensured in all connection scenarios (office, mobile data network, home office, VPN, ...), the IPv6 connection check can be omitted. TCP candidates can also be dispensed with if the audio stream can be transported via regular and preferred UDP without any problems.

In estos ProCall Enterprise, the client communicates the candidates to the estos UC Media Server via the estos UC Web Server. In the estos ProCall Enterprise Server, the connection check is controlled in such a way that only the desired type of client candidates are sent to the estos UC Media Server from the UC Web Server. Candidates reported by the client that should not be checked (for example, IPv6 and TCP candidates) are filtered out by the estos UC Web Server and the UC Media Server will therefore not receive them. If the estos UC Web Server blocks the forwarding of IPv6 client candidates, the UC Media Server will not receive any IPv6 candidates and will therefore not create any candidate pairs for IPv6, even though it may have IPv6 candidates itself.

This filtering technique for ICE Candidates is thus independent of the network infrastructure, so it is not necessary to disable network adapters on the client or server or to remove the IPv6 protocol from the adapter.

Filter parameters

The desired filter parameters are entered in the kurentoservers section of the configuration file eucwebconfig.json (default C:\Program Files\estos\UCServer\config\eucwebconfig.json) of the estos UC Web Server:

candkillipv6Value 1: IPv6 Candidates are suppressed
candkilltcpValue 1: TCP Candidates are suppressed
candonlyturnValue 1: host and srflx candidates are suppressed

The default value for all three parameters is 0 (even if there is no parameter entry), this filtering is thus inactive.

Filtering of IPv6 and TCP candidates shows up in the eucwebconfig.json as follows:

Example screenshot: eucwebconfig.json

Please note the exact syntax regarding comma and bracket placement, as well as upper and lower case letters.

In the example shown here, the UC Media Server and the UCServer or UC Web Server are operated on the same host (WebSocket address 127.0.0.1).
For remote UC Media Servers, please note to keep the corresponding different URL.

The section here for the sake of completeness again as code block:

   "kurentoservers" : [
      {
         "url" : "ws://127.0.0.1:8888/kurento",
         "candkillipv6": 1,
         "candkilltcp": 1,
         "candonlyturn": 0
      }
   ],
CODE


Changes in the estos UC Web Server configuration file eucwebconfig.json only become active after restarting the estos UC Web Server service. A change of the filter parameters, therefore, requires a restart of this service to activate the desired filters.

Restarting the estos UC Web Server service will disconnect ongoing calls via SIP softphone lines.
This process should be performed outside of regular productive operations due to this brief interruption in operation.

Kenntnisstand

Mai 2021

Beobachtung

Bei Telefongesprächen erfolgt die Audio-Durchschaltung nach einer Verbindungsherstellung deutlich verzögert.
Trotz erfolgreicher Verbindungsherstellung ist die Sprache bidirektional erst einige Sekunden später zu hören: Die ersten Sekunden des Gesprächs "fehlen", ansonsten ist die Verbindung in ungestörter Qualität verfügbar.

Wo tritt dieses Verhalten auf?

Telefongespräche auf einer SIP Softphone-Leitung im ProCall Enterprise Client für Microsoft Windows oder in der ProCall Mobile App für iOS und Android können von diesem Problem betroffen sein.

Welche Gespräche sind betroffen?

Häufiger von diesem Problem betroffen sind eingehende Gespräche am ProCall Enterprise Client für Microsoft Windows, hingegen weniger betroffen sind ausgehende Gespräche.

In der ProCall Mobile App kann dieses Verhalten sowohl bei ein- als auch ausgehenden Verbindungen in Erscheinung treten.

Mögliche Ursachen

Die Medienverbindung (verschlüsselter RTP Audio Stream G.711 aLaw-, G.711 µLaw- oder Opus-codiert) zwischen ProCall Enterprise Client für Microsoft Windows und estos UC Media Server oder zwischen ProCall Mobile App für iOS/Android und estos UC Media Server wird mithilfe des Verfahrens Interactive Connectivity Establishment (ICE) nach RFC 8445 ausgehandelt. Dabei tauschen Client und Server Candidates aus (host, srflx, relay, auf IPv4 und IPv6, UDP und TCP).
Candidates stellen die für eine mögliche Audio- oder Videoverbindung möglichen Verbindungsendpunkte dar, die zwischen den Kommunikationsteilnehmern ausgetauscht und als mögliche geeignete Verbindungswege geprüft werden.

Anzahl der Candidates

Je nach Betriebsumgebung kann eine ganz unterschiedliche Zahl von Candidates vorliegen.

Verfügt ein estos UC Media Server beispielsweise nur über ein Netzwerkinterface, und es ist darauf nur das IPv4-Protokoll, nicht aber auch das IPv6-Protokoll gebunden, wird der UC Media Server nur schätzungsweise 5 Candidates dem Client als mögliche Verbindungsendpunkte mitteilen (IPv4 UDP host, IPv4 UDP srflx, IPv4 TCP host active und passive, IPv4 UDP relay).

Befindet sich die ProCall Mobile App beispielsweise im Betrieb in einer typischen Homeoffice-Umgebung, wird diese dem UC Media Server wahrscheinlich mehr als 20 mögliche Verbindungsendpunkte mitteilen: host Adresse im WLAN, host Adresse im Mobilfunkdatennetz, srflx Adresse am Router des Heimnetzes, srflx Adresse im Mobilfunkdatennetz, relay Adresse im TURN Server. Diese Adressen jeweils berücksichtigt unter IPv4 und IPv6, UDP und TCP ergeben ohne Detailberücksichtigungen bereits rechnerisch 20 Candidates.

Bei der Verbindungsaushandlung via ICE werden die gegenseitig mitgeteilten Candidates geeignet gepaart, um die Endpunktverbindungen von beiden Seiten zu prüfen.
Ohne weitere Details zu berücksichtigen, können bei 10 UC Media Server Candidates und 20 ProCall Mobile App Candidates grob überschlagen 10 mal 20 Verbindungswege gebildet werden, die es innerhalb kürzester Zeit zu prüfen gilt, dabei eine hinreichend schnelle Verbindungswegfindung jedoch nicht sichergestellt werden kann. Es könnte eben mehrere Sekunden dauern, bis ein geeigneter Verbindungsweg sowohl von der ProCall Mobile App als auch vom UC Media Server gefunden und als Übertragungskanal miteinander vereinbart wird. Innerhalb dieser Sekunden der Verbindungsaushandlung geht dann die Audioübertragung verloren und der Benutzer nimmt dies als verzögerte Audio-Durchschaltung wahr.

Im Vergleich zum vorherigen Beispiel, in dem IPv4 und IPv6 Candidates evaluiert werden und es dabei zu grob geschätzt 200 zu prüfenden Verbindungswegen kommen könnte, ergeben sich durch Abschaltung von IPv6 Candidates grob überschlagen nur noch 50 zu prüfende Verbindungswege, was einer Reduktion von Verbindungstests um 75% entspricht.

Vorgehensweise

Reduktion der zu prüfenden Verbindungswege

Die Reduktion der zu prüfenden Verbindungswege kann also ein geeignetes Mittel sein, um die Audio-Durchschaltung zu beschleunigen.

Bedarfsweise können die dem estos UC Media Server über den estos UC Web Server zugeführten Candidates des Clients gefiltert werden. Damit erhält der UC Media Server weniger Client Candidates gemeldet, bildet weniger Candidate Pairs für den Verbindungs-Check und nominiert somit rascher die erfolgreich getestete Verbindung.

Filtertechnik für ICE Candidates

Je nach Betriebsumgebung ist es sinnvoll, die IPv6- oder TCP Candidates von der ICE Verbindungsprüfung auszunehmen. Ist beispielsweise die IPv4-Kommunikation in allen Verbindungsszenarien (Office, mobiles Datennetz, Home Office, VPN, ...) sichergestellt, kann auf die IPv6 Verbindungsprüfung verzichtet werden. Ebenfalls kann auf TCP Candidates verzichtet werden, wenn der Audio Stream problemlos über regulär und bevorzugt UDP transportiert werden kann.

In estos ProCall Enterprise teilt der Client die Candidates dem estos UC Media Server über den estos UC Web Server mit. Es wird im estos ProCall Enterprise Server die Verbindungsprüfung derart beeinflusst, dass dem estos UC Media Server vom UC Web Server nur die gewünschte Art von Client Candidates zugeführt werden. Vom Client gemeldete Candidates, die nicht geprüft werden sollen (beispielsweise IPv6- und TCP Candidates) filtert der estos UC Web Server aus und der UC Media Server wird diese damit nicht erhalten. Sperrt der estos UC Web Server also die Weiterleitung von IPv6 Client Candidates, wird der UC Media Server keine IPv6 Candidates mitgeteilt bekommen und wird so auch keine Candidate Pairs für IPv6 bilden, obwohl dieser selbst womöglich IPv6 Candidates vorhält.

Diese Filtertechnik für ICE Candidates ist damit unabhängig von der Netzwerkinfrastruktur, es ist also nicht erforderlich, auf Client oder Server Netzwerkadapter zu deaktivieren oder das IPv6 Protokoll vom Adapter zu entfernen.

Filterparameter

Die gewünschten Filterparameter werden im Abschnitt kurentoservers der Konfigurationsdatei eucwebconfig.json (Standard C:\Program Files\estos\UCServer\config\eucwebconfig.json) des estos UC Web Server eingetragen:

candkillipv6Wert 1: IPv6 Candidates werden unterdrückt
candkilltcpWert 1: TCP Candidates werden unterdrückt
candonlyturnWert 1: host und srflx Candidates werden unterdrückt

Standardwert für alle drei Parameter ist 0 (auch bei nicht vorhandenem Parametereintrag), diese Filterung damit inaktiv.

Eine Filterung von IPv6- und TCP Candidates zeigt sich in der eucwebconfig.json damit wie folgt:

Beispiel Screenshot eucwebconfig.json

Bitte beachten Sie die exakte Syntax hinsichtlich Komma- und Klammernsetzung, wie auch die Groß- und Kleinschreibung

Im hier dargestellten Beispiel werden der UC Media Server und der UCServer bzw. UC Web Server auf demselben Host betrieben (WebSocket Adresse 127.0.0.1).
Für abgesetzt betriebene UC Media Server beachten Sie bitte, die entsprechend andere URL beizubehalten.

Der Abschnitt hier der Vollständigkeit halber nochmals als Code Block:

   "kurentoservers" : [
      {
         "url" : "ws://127.0.0.1:8888/kurento",
         "candkillipv6": 1,
         "candkilltcp": 1,
         "candonlyturn": 0
      }
   ],
      }
   ],
CODE


Änderungen in der estos UC Web Server Konfigurationsdatei eucwebconfig.json werden erst nach Neustart des Dienstes estos UC Web Server aktiv. Eine Änderung der Filterparameter erfordert also einen Neustart dieses Dienstes, um die gewünschten Filter zu  aktivieren.

Ein Neustart des Dienstes estos UC Web Server wird laufende Gespräche über SIP Softphone-Leitungen trennen.
Dieser Vorgang sollte aufgrund dieser kurzzeitigen Betriebsunterbrechung außerhalb des regulären Produktivbetriebs durchgeführt werden.