State of knowledge

January 2022

ProCall 7 Enterprisefrom V 7.3.0
Cloud PBX 

BroadSoft Germany GmbH Placetel PROFI Cloud PBX


Notes on the estos test environment

The softphone functions (SIP) of ProCall were tested in the estos test environment with the telephone system specified above. The tests were performed with a maximum of two lines per SIP end device. The following information was used when setting up the telephone system for logging in/registering the individual SIP lines to the UCServer.

SIP and RTP transport

Only UDP connections are currently supported for connecting SIP lines.

Placetel PROFI SIP accounts

The SIP accounts to be set up for the use of ProCall Enterprise and the connection instructions regarding the registrar to be used will be communicated to you by Ostertag DeTeWe GmbH and must be stored in the UCServer administration in the respective equivalents as described below.

UCServer configuration

The settings are made in the UCServer administration:

Setting up the telephone system connection

Enter the connection to the PBX as a SIP softphone with the type Placetel - Placetel PROFI (vPBX) under "Lines".

Example screenshot: UCServer Administration – Telephony - Lines

In the input line Registrar/IP address, the registrar and the port information are already preset. Please check this information is correct or enter the correct data for your access here, which you will have received from Placetel:

Example screenshot: Add SIP softphone – Registrar

The other specifications Reregister to, Register Delay, NAT Refresh, and SIP Transport are also already suitably preset but could be adapted according to the total number of lines and the network topology.

The default setting for reregister after 240 s is a workable value that can be adjusted in defined steps between 90 and 7200 seconds as needed.

If more than (in the order of) 25 SIP lines are to be registered, reducing the register delay of 300 ms is not recommended in order to achieve a better-distributed registration renewal. However, increasing this value may be necessary to avoid blacklisting by the vPBX in case of a large number of lines.

NAT Refresh

Depending on the connection technology from the internal network via the internet to the provider of the virtual PBX, it may be necessary to reduce the value of the NAT Refresh setting in order to prevent the virtual PBX from no longer being able to establish contact with the estos UCServer from outside, e.g. because the UDP connection has been closed by a NAT router or a firewall or the NAT UDP mapping has been deleted.


SIP transport

The connection of SIP subscribers to this vPBX, developed, tested and released by estos, requires the selection UDP in the SIP transport setting option.

According to the current state of development, SIP messages are thus exchanged with the registrar without encryption. Audio data is also transmitted to and from the PBX via RTP without encryption.

If you configure this setting option differently from the default UDP, you do so at your own risk. Likewise, support for a setting deviating from this is excluded by estos support.


Softphone registration

To register specific SIP softphone lines on the Placetel PROFI vPBX in the estos ProCall Enterprise server, enter the required information for each line, which you can read out in the Placetel web portal under VoIP destinations and the VoIP access data stored there. Specifically, the data SIP user name, SIP password and the complete phone number are required. Please also verify the SIP server information:

Example screenshot: Placetel – VoIP target basic settings and VoIP access data

  • Username(s): SIP user name as stored in the vPBX and visible in the Placetel web portal,
  • Password: The SIP password as stored for the user name in the vPBX and visible in the Placetel web portal,
  • Configure more softphones: After pressing the Next > button, this dialog is displayed again for the purpose of specifying another SIP line.
    However, additional softphone lines can also be added later or created via file import.
  • Transfer auth.username from username: activated (always unchecked).
  • Transfer phone number from username: deactivated (always NOT unchecked).
  • Phone number: The specification of the call number in the supercanonical/E.164 format.
    The extension number can also be used, as long as it is reliably converted to a super-canonically formatted line number by the site configuration (see later step) and is thus also displayed in the line list.

Example screenshot Add SIP softphone – SIP registration login

Define a name for the line group

After the SIP lines have been added to the line group, a unique name must be entered for them: <line group name>. The default name is Placetel, but it is possible to deviate from this, taking into account the permissible characters.

Permitted characters

Please note that only the letters a – z, A – Z, and digits are allowed in the line group name. Umlauts, spaces, or special characters are not allowed here.

Example screenshot: Name line group

Then set up the location and telephony details in UCServer administration:

Configure location

Set up a Location in the UCServer administration under General – Lines with the information on exchange codes, area code, system call number, and extension range.

The following rules for exchange code processing and formatting were found to be suitable in the test connections to the Placetel Profi Cloud PBX, but may deviate from them due to customer-specific connection variants and require readjustment. You can access these setting options directly via the Details button shown above...

Example screenshot: Location – Exchange codes

Example screenshot: Location Formatting

Example screenshot: Advanced Basic services

Formatting

Make sure to set the phone number format PC dialing to Apply dialing rules (default) under Advanced – Basic services and activate the option Always dial with area code in the local network.

Configure line group

Via the context menu of the line group, you reach the menu item Properties.
Open the Properties of the line group with the name you defined above under <Line group name>.

Location of the line group

Enter the previously created location here under Location settings.

Example screenshot Properties for line group Location settings


Prioritize audio codecs

On the Media tab, make sure to enable both audio codecs towards PBX with the following prioritization:
G.711 aLaw (1. Position),
G.711 μLaw (2. Position).
In the setting option for the audio codecs towards the client, the codecs G.711 and Opus are available. Here you select the codec that ideally meets your requirements.

Import SIP softphone lines

With a large number of SIP softphone lines, manual entry of the relevant information regarding username, password, and phone number via the dialog shown above is quite time-consuming. Therefore, an import function is also available to read in the line information from a CSV-formatted file.

Example screenshot: Import softphone registrations

The records to be imported must be in the import file in CSV format (comma-separated values). For each softphone line to be imported, a row must be provided containing the required parameters.

The order of the parameters is strictly defined, also missing or omitted information must be marked by a comma at the end of the position:

  1. Value: Username (required field),
  2. Value: Auth.username (optional),
  3. Value: Password (optional),
  4. Value: Phone number different from the username (optional).

At Placetel PROFI a separate Auth.username is not in use:

  1. Value username: Required field for identification of the SIP line,
  2. Value Auth.username: this will be skipped using the "," separator,
  3. Value password: Required field for specifying the password for accessing the SIP line,
  4. Value call number: Required specification of the fully supercanonically formatted call number of the SIP line.

Example of records to be imported with Auth. username not used:

abc_xxx,,asdfghjklö,+497211002006000
abc_yyy,,asdfghjklö,+497211002006001
abc_zzz,,asdfghjklö,+497211002006002
...
CODE


If there is a username entry in the import file that is already included in the list of softphone registrations in the line group, it will be skipped during the import. Even if the optional values to the username would have changed, an already existing username would not be updated regarding its values. An import also cannot be used to delete usernames from the list of softphone lines to be registered. A username that is no longer included in the import file will not cause the username to be deleted from the line group when the import process is repeated. Therefore, if extensive changes are made to existing usernames, it is worth considering whether deleting all of the usernames in the line group and then reimporting them with the corrected data might be more appropriate.

Remarks and known limitations

Pickup feature code/targeted pickup of calls

If pickup functionality is available in the booked Placetel PROFI offering, you can also configure the pickup feature code *822 in estos ProCall Enterprise and use it for the Client function Pickup call.

For this, select the tab Feature-Codes in the respective trunk group, activate Pickup Feature-Code and enter the string *822<NUMBER> as Feature-Code:

Example Screenshot: UCServer - Properties of trunk group - Feature-Codes

Display for anonymous calls

If the caller does not transmit or suppress their own phone number, the ProCall Enterprise client call window (up to version 7.3.2.x) shows the ProCall user's own phone number as caller information. As of ProCall Enterprise version 7.3.3.5345, this display problem no longer occurs. As expected, the call window displays the caller information like [New contact] - Call number unknown.

Forwarding display

For calls that are transferred to a ProCall Enterprise user by means of direct forwarding, the call window at the forwarding destination shows a Placetel PROFI SIP user name under Forwarded from, which is usually not immediately interpretable by users.

Example screenshot: ProCall Client incoming call with "Forwarded"

It is desired to display the name of the forwarding SIP line user under Forwarded from according to availability, so that the transfer destination not only has the information about the transferred caller, but also the information about the originally called party.

As of ProCall Enterprise version 7.3.3.5345, an attempt is made to eliminate this display problem as far as possible. Based on the SIP registration information available in the estos ProCall UCServer, an attempt is always made to replace the Placetel PROFI SIP user name (777001264814 in the above example) with the user information available in the ProCall Enterprise user administration, so that information regarding the forwarding party is displayed that can be better interpreted by users in the Forwarded from section of the call window.

Please note that if no information is available about the forwarder in the ProCall Enterprise user administration, the raw data of the Placetel PROFI SIP user name is still displayed in the Forwarded from section.

Version note

Since estos has no influence on the further development of the supported telephone systems by the manufacturer, we cannot guarantee that the instructions described above will also be fully valid for future releases.

Further information

PBX-specific configuration: Setting up softphone functions (SIP) for Placetel PROFI vPBX – connection instructions

Kenntnisstand

Oktober 2021

ProCall 7 Enterpriseab V 7.3.0
Cloud PBX 

BroadSoft Germany GmbH Placetel PROFI Cloud PBX


Hinweise zur estos Testumgebung

Mit der oben angegebenen Telefonanlage wurden die Softphone Funktionen (SIP) von ProCall in der estos Laborumgebung getestet. Die nachfolgenden Informationen wurden bei der Einrichtung der Telefonanlage für die Anmeldung / Registrierung der einzelnen SIP-Leitungen an den UCServer verwendet.

SIP- und RTP-Transport

Für die Anbindung von SIP-Leitungen werden derzeit nur UDP-Verbindungen unterstützt.

Placetel PROFI SIP-Accounts

Die für die Nutzung von ProCall Enterprise einzurichtenden SIP-Accounts und die Anbindungshinweise hinsichtlich des zu verwendenden Registrars werden Ihnen von Placetel mitgeteilt und sind in der UCServer Verwaltung in nachfolgend beschriebener Weise in den jeweiligen Entsprechungen zu hinterlegen.

Konfiguration des UCServers

Die Einstellungen werden in der UCServer Verwaltung vorgenommen:

Einrichtung der Telefonanlagenanbindung

Tragen Sie die Verbindung zur Telefonanlage als SIP-Softphone mit dem Typ Placetel - Placetel PROFI (vPBX) unter „Leitungenein.

Beispiel Screenshot UCServer Verwaltung - Telefonie - Leitungen

In der Eingabezeile Registrar/IP-Adresse ist bereits der Registrar und die Angabe des Port vorbelegt. Bitte überprüfen Sie diese Angaben auf Richtigkeit oder tragen die für Ihren Zugang korrekten Daten, welche Sie von Placetel erhalten haben, hier ein:

Beispiel Screenshot SIP-Softphone hinzufügen - Registrar

Die weiteren Angaben Reregister nach, Register Verzögerung, NAT Refresh und SIP Transport sind ebenfalls bereits geeignet vorbelegt, könnten jedoch nach Gesamtzahl der Leitungen und der Netzwerktopologie anzupassen sein.

Die Standardeinstellung für Reregister nach von 240 s ist ein praktikabler Wert, der bedarfsweise in definierten Stufen zwischen 90 und 7200 Sekunden angepasst werden kann.

Sollten mehr als (in der Größenordnung) 25 SIP-Leitungen zu registrieren sein, ist die Verringerung der Register Verzögerung von 300 ms nicht empfehlenswert, um damit eine zeitlich besser verteilte Registrierungserneuerung zu erzielen. Eine Erhöhung dieses Wertes könnte hingegen erforderlich sein, um bei einer großen Anzahl von Leitungen ein Blacklisting seitens der vPBX zu vermeiden.

NAT Refresh

Je nach Verbindungstechnik aus dem internen Netzwerk über das Internet hin zum Provider der virtuellen PBX kann es notwendig werden, den Wert der Einstellung NAT Refresh zu verringern, um damit zu verhindern, dass die virtuelle Telefonanlage von außen keinen Kontakt mehr zum estos UCServer aufnehmen kann, da bspw. von einem NAT-Router oder einer Firewall zwischenzeitlich die UDP-Verbindung geschlossen oder das NAT UDP Mapping gelöscht wurde.


SIP-Transport

Die von estos entwickelte, getestete und freigegebene Anbindung von SIP-Teilnehmern an dieser vPBX setzt in der Einstellungsoption SIP Transport die Auswahl UDP voraus.

Damit werden SIP Messages nach derzeitigem Entwicklungsstand unverschlüsselt mit dem Registrar ausgetauscht. Ebenso werden die Audiodaten von und zur PBX via RTP unverschlüsselt übertragen.

Sollten Sie diese Einstellungsoption von der Vorgabe UDP abweichend konfigurieren, erfolgt dies auf eigene Verantwortung. Ebenfalls ist der Support für eine hiervon abweichende Einstellung durch den estos Support ausgeschlossen.


Softphone Registrierung

Für die Registrierung spezifischer SIP Softphone-Leitungen an der Placetel PROFI vPBX im estos ProCall Enterprise Server tragen Sie pro Leitung die erforderlichen Angaben ein, welche Sie im Placetel Webportal unter VoIP-Ziele und den dort hinterlegten VoIP-Zugangsdaten auslesen können. Konkret erforderlich sind die Daten SIP-Benutzername, SIP-Passwort und die vollständige Rufnummer. Bitte verifizieren Sie dabei auch die Angabe zum SIP-Server:

Beispiel Screenshot: Placetel - VoIP-Ziel Grundeinstellungen und VoIP-Zugangsdaten


  • Benutzername(n): die Angabe des SIP-Benutzername wie in der vPBX hinterlegt und ersichtlich im Placetel Webportal,
  • Passwort: das SIP-Passwort wie in der vPBX hinterlegt und ersichtlich im Placetel Webportal,
  • Weitere Softphones konfigurieren: nach Betätigen des Weiter > Buttons wird Ihnen dieser Dialog erneut zwecks Angaben zu einer weiteren SIP-Leitung angezeigt.
    Weitere Softphone-Leitungen können jedoch auch nachträglich hinzugefügt oder via Dateiimport angelegt werden.
  • Auth.Benutzername vom Benutzernamen übernehmen: aktiviert (immer angehakt)
  • Rufnummer vom Benutzernamen übernehmen: deaktiviert (immer NICHT angehakt)
  • Rufnummer: die Angabe der Rufnummer im superkanonischen / E.164-Format.
    Es kann auch die Durchwahl verwendet werden, sofern diese durch die Standortkonfiguration (siehe späteren Schritt) zuverlässig zu einer superkanonisch formatierten Leitungsnummer gewandelt wird und so auch in der Leitungsliste dargestellt wird.

Beispiel Screenshot SIP-Softphone hinzufügen - Anmeldung SIP-Registrierung

Name für die Leitungsgruppe definieren

Nachdem die SIP-Leitungen der Leitungsgruppe hinzugefügt wurden, ist für diese noch ein eindeutiger Name einzutragen: <Leitungsgruppenname>. Als Standard ist Placetel vorgegeben, jedoch kann von diesem Standard unter Berücksichtigung der zulässigen Zeichen abgewichen werden.

Zulässige Zeichen

Bitte berücksichtigen Sie, dass im Leitungsgruppennamen nur die Buchstaben a - z, A - Z und Ziffern erlaubt sind. Umlaute, Leer- oder Sonderzeichen sind hier nicht zulässig.

Beispiel Screenshot Leitungsgruppe benennen

Richten Sie dann in der UCServer Verwaltung die Angaben zu Standort und Telefonie ein:

Standort konfigurieren

Richten Sie in der UCServer Verwaltung unter Allgemein - Leitungen einen Standort mit den Informationen zu Amtskennziffern, Vorwahl, Anlagenrufnummer und Durchwahlbereich ein.

Die folgend dargestellten Regeln für die Amtskennzifferverarbeitung und die Formatierung zeigten sich in den Testanschaltungen an die Placetel Profi Cloud PBX als geeignet, könnten jedoch aufgrund kundenspezifischer Anschaltvarianten hiervon auch abweichen und eine Nachjustierung erforderlich machen. Sie erreichen diese Einstellungsoptionen direkt über den oben dargestellten Button Details...

Beispiel Screenshot Standort - Amtskennziffern

Beispiel Screenshot Standort - Formatierung

Beispiel Screenshot Erweitert - Basisdienste

Formatierung

Achten Sie darauf, unter Erweitert – Basisdienste das Rufnummernformat PC-Wahl auf Wahlregeln anwenden (Standard) einzustellen und die Option Im Ortsnetz immer mit Vorwahl wählen zu aktivieren.

Leitungsgruppe konfigurieren

Über das Kontextmenü der Leitungsgruppe erreichen Sie den Menüpunkt Eigenschaften.
Öffnen Sie die Eigenschaften der Leitungsgruppe mit dem Namen, den Sie oben unter <Leitungsgruppenname> definiert haben.

Standort der Leitungsgruppe

Tragen Sie den zuvor angelegten Standort hier unter Standorteinstellungen ein. 

Beispiel Screenshot Eigenschaften für Leitungsgruppe - Standorteinstellungen


Audiocodecs priorisieren

Auf der Registerkarte Media achten Sie darauf, die beiden Audio-Codecs Richtung PBX mit folgender Priorisierung zu aktivieren:
G.711 aLaw (1. Position),
G.711 μLaw (2. Position).
In der Einstellungsmöglichkeit für die Audio-Codecs Richtung Client stehen die Codecs G.711 und Opus zur Verfügung. Hierbei wählen Sie den Codec aus, der Ihren Anforderungen idealerweise entspricht.

Import von SIP Softphone-Leitungen

Bei einer großen Anzahl von SIP Softphone-Leitungen ist die manuelle Eingabe der relevanten Informationen bzgl. Benutzername, Kennwort und Rufnummer via oben dargestelltem Dialog recht aufwändig. Es steht deshalb auch eine Importfunktion zur Verfügung, um die Leitungsinformationen aus einer CSV-formatierten Datei einzulesen.

Beispiel Screenshot Softphone-Registrierungen Import 

Die zu importierenden Datensätze müssen in der Importdatei im CSV Format (durch Komma separierte Werte) vorliegen. Für jede zu importierende Softphone-Leitung ist eine Zeile vorzusehen, die die erforderlichen Parameter enthält.

Die Reihenfolge der Parameter ist strikt festgelegt, fehlende Werte sind anhand eines Kommas zu kennzeichnen.

  1. Wert: Benutzername (Pflichtfeld),
  2. Wert: Auth.Benutzername (optional),
  3. Wert: Kennwort (optional),
  4. Wert: Rufnummer vom Benutzernamen abweichend (optional).

An der OD Cloud ist ein gesonderter Auth.Benutzername nicht in Verwendung:

  1. Wert Benutzername: Pflichtfeld zur Identifikation der SIP-Leitung,
  2. Wert Auth.Benutzername: dieser wird anhand des Separators "," übersprungen,
  3. Wert Kennwort: Pflichtfeld für die Angabe des Kennworts für den Zugriff auf die SIP-Leitung,
  4. Wert Rufnummer: Pflichtangabe der vollständig superkanonisch formatierten Rufnummer der SIP-Leitung.

Beispiel für zu importierende Datensätze mit nicht verwendetem Auth.-Benutzername:

abc_xxx,,asdfghjklö,+497211002006000
abc_yyy,,asdfghjklö,+497211002006001
abc_zzz,,asdfghjklö,+497211002006002
...
CODE


Falls ein Benutzernamen-Eintrag in der Importdatei enthalten ist, der bereits in der Liste der Softphone-Registrierungen in der Leitungsgruppe enthalten ist, wird dieser während des Imports übersprungen. Auch wenn sich die optionalen Werte zum Benutzernamen geändert hätten, würde ein bereits vorhandener Benutzername nicht hinsichtlich seiner Werte aktualisiert. Ein Import kann auch nicht dazu verwendet werden, Benutzernamen aus der Liste der zu registrierenden Softphone-Leitungen zu löschen. Ein in der Importdatei nicht mehr enthaltener Benutzername sorgt bei einem erneuten Importvorgang nicht für eine Löschung des Benutzernamens in der Leitungsgruppe. Sollten also umfassende Änderungen an vorhandenen Benutzernamen durchgeführt werden, ist überlegenswert, ob die Löschung sämtlicher Benutzernamen in der Leitungsgruppe und ein anschließender neuer Import mit den korrigierten Daten sinnvoller sein könnte.

Bemerkungen und bekannte Einschränkungen

Pickup Feature-Code / gezieltes Heranholen von Anrufen

Im derzeitigen Entwicklungsstand kann ein Pickup Feature-Code in den Eigenschaften der Placetel Leitungsgruppe noch nicht hinterlegt werden, d. h. das gezielte Heranholen von Rufen ist aktuell noch nicht unterstützt.

Darstellung bei anonymen Anrufen

Insofern der Anrufer seine eigene Rufnummer nicht übermittelt bzw. unterdrückt, zeigt das ProCall Enterprise Client Gesprächsfenster die eigene Rufnummer des ProCall Benutzers als Anruferinformation. Die Behebung dieses Problems ist estos-seitig aktuell in Arbeit.

Anzeige des Weiterleitenden

Bei Anrufen, welche einem ProCall Enterprise Benutzer mittels direkter Weiterleitung übergeben werden, zeigt das Gesprächsfenster am Weiterleitungsziel unter Weitergeleitet von einen Placetel PROFI SIP-Benutzernamen, der von den Benutzern in der Regel nicht unmittelbar interpretierbar ist.

Gewünscht ist, unter Weitergeleitet von nach Verfügbarkeit den Namen des weiterleitenden SIP-Leitungsbenutzers anzuzeigen, damit dem Transferziel nicht nur die Information über den transferierten Anrufer, sondern auch die Information über den ursprünglich angerufenen Teilnehmer vorliegt. Dieses Problem ist estos-seitig aktuell in Arbeit.

Versionshinweis

Da estos auf die Weiterentwicklung der unterstützten Telefonanlagen durch den Hersteller keinen Einfluss hat, können wir nicht garantieren, dass die oben beschriebene Anleitung auch für künftige Releases uneingeschränkt gültig ist.